Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
03-19-2022, 10:12 AM - 1 Like   #1

Out of focus images. Camera or lens?

Hello I recently scanned my negatives and discovered that I missed focus on almost every frame. Now I’m not a professional photographer but I don’t miss focus that often. I have a Pentax KM that I recently got a new prism for and I was using a 50mm 1.7 lens. Now I had another roll that I used my 28mm lens and the photos turned out fine. However, I stopped the aperture down quite a bit since we were outside in the sunlight so my focus was pretty dead on. My question is would this be an issue with the lens or the camera? Is it possible that the person who replaced the prism accidentally messed with the focusing screen? Or is that very unlikely? Does my lens need cleaned? When I was looking through the viewfinder everything seemed to be in sharp focus. Thank you!

03-19-2022, 10:26 AM   #2
Pentaxian

It sounds to me like the focus on the screen is not an accurate reflection of what's on the film plane, and that would mean that the screen is out of position: either not properly installed or it needs to be shimmed.

I'm not sure how you'd go about doing that on a film camera. I've done it on digital but that's easy to adjust-test-adjust-test.
03-19-2022, 02:02 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery