Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-25-2009, 11:09 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Greetings from CajunLand, South Louisiana

Hi All
I'm Sid Barras from South Louisiana.
I'm a dedicated pentax user.
I started with a pentax spotmatic F.
Then I got an ES. Loved it. Bought another. Then I got an ESII, black paint. Loved it even more. THen I got two Pentax ES IIs in chrome. In my opinion, the most beautiful SLR ever made.
Then I graduated to the Pentax K2. (Into the beyond-- the K mount era)
I briefly had a KD DMD with all the fancy attachments, but traded it all for an LX with equally fancy attachments.
I bought an MX. Didn't like the metering system. (Blasphemy!)
Got another K2 instead. (Meanwhile, I still had all the M42 stuff, and continued to use it)
Then I bought the beast-- the 6x7. And several equally beasty lenses. Thought I would never shoot 35mm again; at least not for black and white.

I was happy for a little while.
THen the mini-cameras started appearing. I got an ME super. thought it was neat, a camera for the glove box.
Traded it for a Super Program. There's my second favorite pentax after the ESII chrome. An amazing machine in a tiny package. Of course, I like the LX, but the one I had was always fickle; in the shop more often than in my hand. Relegated it to the "collection shelf."
Got the SF-1. Shot with it for a long time.
Got the PZ-20 next. Nice camera. Saved up for th PZ-1. Then, almost as soon as I had it, here comes the PZ-1P. Of course, I got it too. Kept the PZ-1. Eventually added a second PZ-1P, and if film was still in vogue and my wife had let me keep my 3rd bathroom as a darkroom, I'd still be shooting the PZ-1P. A great camera.
Meanwhile, I'd slowly evolved to using the 6x7 for black and white plus-x pan and FP4+; the M42 cameras for kodak HIE infrared film, and the others for color film.