Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-26-2009, 12:22 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Hello from South Carolina!

Hello to one and all, all over the world!

I've been photographing since 1962, when I started using a Rolleiflex (twin-lens reflex) camera, which I purchased for the princely sum of $64.00 NEW! It was the least expensive camera in the Rollei line of products and I self-taught myself the basics with it and a Weston silicone manual meter. I still have that meter, but I a(sadly) sold that camera.

After using Nikons FM2, HP3, F4, and F5, I got fed-up with their weaknesses and traded them in @ B&H Photo. Money in hand, I bought a Contax N1 and a 24mm--85mm lens, a Metz 54MZ3 flash with a SCA 3008 remote and eventually a Contax 400mm F/4 tele (for the unbelievable price of $2200.00!!!!!). Unfortunately, and not long afterward, Contax exited the USA and I was stuck with film equipment and no ability to upgrade to a digital SLR, notwithstanding Contax's brief foray into digital via a N1D.

Being an avid film photographer, I had to be dragged into the digital realm when it was too evident that film was becoming quickly outdated.

So, I did some research and purchased a k20D, the battery power grip, and the following SMC DA lenses: 16-50; 50-135; and the 10-17. With a bunch of Cokin P-sized filters and B&W filters, I have now begun shooting in the digital age.

Although I'm once again lugging around considerable weight in my Tamrac #706 bag, it at least has a wide hip-belt. I have used this bag for almost 10 years and it is simply awesome for carrying gear. Very highly recommended. (I have even put it into the washing machine (1x) on gentle cycle and, as it tended to float, I helped it along by dunking the bag repeatedly into the water. Results--clean and with NO damage to the bag. Nice...)