Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-13-2009, 09:30 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Greetings from a returning Pentaxian!

Hi All,

I'm a new member and thought I'd introduce myself...

I've been in love with photography all my life, but the "honeymoon" passion has returned for the first time in decades - I just purchased a K200D and *ist DL! Both are pre-owned but in like new condition, with actual shutter count below 500 on each!

I started with Pentax when I purchased a brand new K1000 in 1976 - took me two months to save up for it at the time (summer job in high school). My grandfather was a wedding photographer back in the '40s, and he taught me my way around the darkroom a couple of years prior, so I hit the ground running by developing my own film & prints. I loved (and still have) that K1000! Well, that was the first honeymoon, and lasted until I graduated high school in '79.

Photography took a back seat for a while as I built my career, got married, moved around the country, and generally got caught up with other things in life. I experimented a lot with Polaroids in the 80's, briefly played with a couple of Canons in the '90s (T50 & T90), then went through a series of the early digital P&S models. When DSLRs reached 6MP, I bought into the Nikon system, but never rediscovered the passion I remembered having with the K1000.