Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-16-2009, 07:57 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi y'all from Virginia

Ok, virginia beach does not really slur like that except on TV. This is my first day on the forum and my first week as a Pentax SLR owner. The forum was a life saver helping me research and decide on my own which camera and lenses to start off with. Thanks guys and gals. I am normally a computer forum geek but will haunt here now as well. Most of my shooting will be creeping in the marsh looking for waterfowl. I swapped my shotgun for a camera. Been using a Panasonic FZ-30 with a 1.7 extender. Great reach but even greater PF/CA so i have learned PP well!

Lee

ps - i am a noob with a real slr so ANY advice ppl want to shoot my way for outdoor pics with the k20d will be appreciated.

Pentax K20D
Pentax DA 16-45 f/4
Pentax DA 55-300 f/4-5.8

Last edited by imtheguy; 04-14-2009 at 01:09 PM.
03-17-2009, 05:31 AM   #2

Welcome. As for advice, take lots of pictures. Lots - 90% will probably be rubbish. But digital is free.

Otherwise, pick up books by Bryan Peterson "Understanding Exposure" as well as Scott Kelby's series on how to take better photos. Have fun in the marshes.
03-17-2009, 06:05 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Hi and Welcome!!

Please be sure to go to Sandbridge and take some pictures for me!! I sooooo miss it there!! And also the Norfolk Botanical gardens, monster trucks on the beach, and if you really get picture happy, take a ride to Corolla and find the wild horses.... I could go on for hours....
03-17-2009, 12:20 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Hi Lee, welcome!

03-17-2009, 01:39 PM   #5
Site Supporter

Original Poster