Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-19-2009, 09:29 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Hello from Brooklyn, NY

Hi everyone. Excited to have joined right before the K7 gets released tomorrow.

Actually we are moving to Tarragona, Spain, in August. True to mid-life crisis, I will be pursuing a one year wine-making internship in the Priorat, one of the most beautiful mediterranean valleys my eyes have ever laid eyes on.

Which brings me to the quest for the elusive perfect camera system to take with me. Though I am a web developer, and have not touched a camera in a decade, I have an MFA in photography from RIT--I understand cameras and photography pretty well. Honestly I used to be a Nikon fan, and still think highly of their systems. However what I am looking for they do not have is D300 quality on a D90 size. It also has to be available before August.

Which brings me to the K-7. Very exciting. I may very well be all I am looking for in a camera.

I am joining this forums because I do have a concern that I am hoping this community will help demistify. Lenses. Specifically Pentax wide angle lenses. In Priorat I will need wide angles for the vast vistas of the valley and close shots in the vineyards with a sense of place in the background. However, all my research seems to indicate that Pentax APS-C lenses are a bit inferior in the wide angle department when compared to Nikon/Canon and even Olympus.

Is this true? Please prove me wrong! Make the K7 end my dslr quest!

Best to all of you.

Last edited by nomadman; 05-19-2009 at 01:30 PM.
05-19-2009, 10:18 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi nomadman, welcome from a bronx guy. And to the contrary, pentax has some very very good wide angle and ultra wide angle glass.
First of all there is the Pentax DA 12-24mm F4.0. Excellent lens, do a search for it here and you will see many excellent samples from this lens, amongst them <cough cough> mine.