Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-02-2009, 09:06 AM   #1

Glad to be here from Atlanta, GA

Hey I'm 19 and will be going back to school this fall at GSU for film/video and journalism...

I'm a DSLR noob... by all accounts, im coming from 200-400 dollar PS cameras... nikon, sony...etc...

I'll be buying a k10d shortly and will be going to pakistan in july for about 5 weeks....

I'll be (attempting) taking all kinds of photography including
-The Pakistani landscape (it really is beautiful)
-The regions Flora and Fauna (macro i guess)
-I'll be visiting some of the Refugee camps and taking pictures there (would this be considered portrait?)
-Hopefully i can get a bit north into the NWFP region and get close to if not w/ the Pakistani army and the ongoing operations in the SWAT valley region to snap some action photographs and hopefully some combat photos.

I made a thread in the beginner forum for some advice, feel free (and please do) leave some for me

thanks.

06-02-2009, 01:20 PM   #2
Damn Brit

Welcome to the forum, I'm sure you'll have a great trip photographically.
06-02-2009, 01:41 PM   #3
Banned

welcome from Savannah. I hope you enjoy your trip to Pakistan. sounds exciting!
06-02-2009, 02:13 PM   #4
Forum Member

Welcome from the the southside of Hotlanta. I'm new to DSLR also. I have friends that went to Pakistan last year. Quite a culture shock. Polution was terrible.
Ask before taking pictures in a foreign country. Pakistan is a war zone now. You may lose your camera or be detained. Best of luck at GSU. my daughter graduated there. Alot of cool people there ! Go to the beginners forum and ask questions about lens.
Enjoy your trip and keep your eye and lens open.

06-02-2009, 07:42 PM   #5

Original Poster
Thanks for the welcome everybody. It will be exciting.
It definitely is a culture shock the first time, no two ways about it.
but the 7th time around, you get used to it