Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-15-2007, 08:02 AM   #1

New K10D owner here

Just wanted to say hello. Seems like a good bunch of folks here with good sane conversation.

I started shooting film around 1982ish and have used Nikon bodies exclusively. Went through F, F2, F3, FM2, FE2, N8008s, F90 and now shoot a F4s for my film work. When I went to give digital a try I went with a D70 and later a D200. I was becoming bored with digital and went to film full time a few months ago and sold my Nikon DSLRs and kept the F4s. My other film cameras that see use are a Leica M6TTL and a Yashica Electro 35 GSN.

Well a month ago I was wishing I didn't get rid of the D200 for times when film would be a hassle and for experimenting. I decided to look at other brands more because of curiosity and also to see if another brand will get me thinking different about my photography. I also didn't want to reinvest in a D200 and admit I was wrong....I am stubborn like that.

I decided on the K10D because of the glass and because of the image samples I saw. It was also a bargain, especially since I got it at Samy's during their no-tax sale. I bought the body and the 40/2.8. The 40/2.8 fits perfectly with my shooting style. I do all my work with primes and love normals. Form the images I have seen the Pentax glass has that 3D depth I love about some of my Leica glass.

Overall I am very impressed with the build and layout of the controls. The camera seems as well made as my D200...but I somewhat like plastic better then magnesium. I find the metal body has a tendency to get very cold when I go shooting early in the morning.

Here is a sample of what I have been shooting lately...both with film. Shot available light and scanned with a Nikon Coolscan V-ED. Going to do something similar today with the K10D and see how she does.

05-15-2007, 11:15 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
You have some VERY nice pictures there. Welcome to the forum!