Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-30-2009, 12:06 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Howdy from Texas

Hello everyone. People like to call me Brian Starr. I am new here. I am also new to the world of Pentax. My previous camera was a Samsung Pro-815 (non-SLR). Great for a starter four years ago, but extremely lacking in features and options, especially considering what camera's offer now. After reading reviews for the past couple of months, I got myself a K-7 about five days ago.

One thing I am realizing now that I have the Pentax, is that I know absolutely nothing about lenses. My previous Samsung had a 28-420mm lens that you could not change out. So I was limited to using just that lens.

At the moment, I just have the 18-55 WR kit lens. I plan to get the 55-300 DA next. After I do some more reading and research here, and learn what I need to know, I will look into other faster lenses.

I like to shoot pretty much anything. Wildlife, sports, etc... Mainly though, I shoot photos at car shows and car related events.

Back in March, I was invited to shoot photos trackside at a big drag racing event. Once there, I soon realized that I didn't have the camera or equipment that was needed to do so. That's when I went on the hunt to find something better that I can do more with.

I purchased the K-7 in hopes of pushing my photography way beyond cars, and learning everything I possibly can about it. I know my way around Photoshop enough to get me by, and now look forward to growing as a photographer and meeting everyone here.

Sorry for the book-long post. This originally started out as "hey from Texas, I have a K-7".

So yeah, Howdy from Galveston, Tx.

09-30-2009, 12:17 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Hi there Brian,