Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-28-2009, 08:36 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Hi from DC

Hi pentax forums, my name is Matt and I am a photographer in DC.

I stumbled upon a 55mm 1.8 SMC Takumar in a box that was my grandfather's. I was immediately smitten with it because the lens is just beautiful, but my favorite aesthetic part is definitely the lens hood that has its own case! I decided I needed to find a body to work with the lens, which lead me to these forums. I just purchased a Spotmatic SP1000 and I'm pretty psyched to try it out.

I shoot mostly Nikon digital, but when I'm just out having fun I prefer to use my Olympus Om-2n. I love the feel, texture, and huge viewfinders of manual cameras. That's why I was so happy to find the takumar (gives me an excuse to pick up another classic body!).

I can't stand the NIkonians website so I'll probably just be hanging out here and putting in input where I can. I've been really impressed with how nice people are on this forums. I used to contribute for years to car forums and people were seriously cut throat there.

So... thanks for having me!

Matt

10-28-2009, 08:42 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome, the 55/1.8 is a great one, and if you wanted it you can use an M42 adapter on any Pentax digital body (and also some Canon, not sure how it works on them). Also, I find trap-AF highly useful with them. I have a number of screwmount lenses for use on my Pentax K-x - actually trying to collect some more highly praised cheap russian ones as of now, as well as some older K-mount primes. There is just something about using those taks. And they are built like tanks.