Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-06-2007, 11:34 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
K110D Colorado (USA) LBA club candidate (;-)

Greetings from the Boulder area. A long-time Minolta SRT SLR fan since high school photography class days, I've been using various compact digicams for several years for basic snaphots. Went DSLR in December when I saw I could get a K110D kit for under the magic $500 mark. I've bought a few good used Tamron tele zoom lenses on eBay; I think I have some LBA symptoms. (;-)

As I've recently discovered a wonderful group of foxes (a/k/a leash or skulk) in my area, I 've been photographing the best I can with the gear I have, but I would like to better photograph them. Moving animals, and seen most often at dawn or dusk (3200 ISO sometimes) - it's a challenging photo project. The 28-300 XR Di seems good when I've been able to sneak up and get close during the day, but not good enough for distance shots. JFTHOI, I got one of those cheapie 500mm mirror lenses (that seems to be sold under so many labels) but it's apparent right away that I need better glass for the kind of sharp images I'd like to produce. Considering a tele converter (1.4x, 2x) to go with the 28-300 XR Di, but also thinking about a Sigma 170-500mm (someone here had one for sale a while ago at what seemed like a very good price). Saw what appeared to be very nice, sharp pics taken with that lens (onK10D) posted on dpreview.com, but wondering if an upgrade from K100 to K10 might be in order.

In shopping for lenses, it sure seems like various third-party lenses are always available for Canon and Nikon, but less often for Pentax. (:-( Makes me wonder if I should still consider one of those families before I get too serious about Pentax. (OTOH, as a long-time Mac user, I'm OK not using what's most popular.)

06-07-2007, 01:29 AM   #2

Photos: Albums
Welcome Doug