Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-04-2009, 01:37 AM   #1

Hello from Chicago

Hello everyone -- long-time troller and first-time poster. I'm an amateur who just likes to take photos for personal/family use. Some years ago back in college my parents bought me a cheap, plastic, all-manual SLR with a zoom lens. I really enjoyed using it and was surprised to see how much better even a cheap 35mm was compared to all the crappy point and shoots my family used. I took out a book on photography from the library to learn some basics, and decided to buy a 50mm lens. I went to the camera store and the guy there had never heard of my type of camera, but the instruction booklet said it took "K-mount" lenses. What the hell does that mean? The guy said that it means that the camera takes Pentax lenses......and that's how I got started using Pentax.
Although I haven't been around for too long, I remember a time when good, quality camera stores were all around the neighborhood. Its sad to see almost all of them gone today, and the remaining ones only a shell of their former selves. Here in Chicago, I had a very difficult time finding anyone who carries anything Pentax-related. I could only find one store that had the K-7 in stock -- and there they only had one with no charged battery, so I couldn't even test it out. The salesperson blamed it on poor demand due to the lack of advertising, which is something I had seen discussed here in the forums. So nowadays, even if you can find a store that carries at least some used Pentax stuff, most salespeople are completely unfamiliar with Pentax's current lineup of products.