Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-27-2009, 06:16 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hello from Up North

Hi All,

It's about time I introduced myself. I'm a writer/illustrator/photographer with a weekly column for a canoeing/kayaking website, and also write/shoot most of the copy/pix for my website, which is devoted to active outdoor pursuits (bicycling, hiking, snowshoeing, paddling, photography). In a former life I was a field geologist, and throughout my working life photography has been an important adjunct. For pleasure I shoot pictures of wild animals, birds, landscapes, clouds, and anything else in the natural world which catches my eye. Moreover, I can't pass abandonments and other old buildings without itching to photograph them. As an avid cyclist, I also enjoy shooting pictures of bikes and cycling, and to top it all off, it's also great fun to photograph food and food prep. (Did I leave anything out?)

I became a Pentax owner for the second time (first-time DSLR owner) late last year with the purchase of the K200D -- I love it! My first Pentax was a K1000 SLR, though I've also owned a Minolta, a Nikon FM, and an Olympus OM-1n, and a variety of lenses.

I've just joined this forum earlier this month, having found my way here when researching ways to make my K200D work with rechargeable batteries. I found the answer (Sanyo Eneloops, in case anyone wonders) in one of the threads, then moseyed around and found that this is a wonderful forum. I've already learned a great deal here, and am enjoying the mini-challenges. There are a lot of excellent photographers here, and I've been impressed with the generosity folks have shown in offering help. The folks who maintain this forum do a super job of making a valuable resource -- thanks!

12-27-2009, 06:28 PM   #2
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Hi Tamia.
Great to have you on board.
Look forward to your contributions here.