Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-26-2007, 06:52 PM   #1

Photo noob, K100D owner, moving to Pitt soon ...

Been around for the past week or so. I guess it's time to introduce myself.

WARNING: Photo Uber-Noob

I've been largely a weak and ignorant Point'n Shoot user. I've been a traveling consultant for the last 5 years, plus I often travel to several of my Alma Mater's American Football away games. I've always been disappointed in the lack of both wide and, even more so, telephoto quality -- especially fidelity and shutter speed -- with Point'n Shoot cameras. I had hoped the superzoom prosumer/near-dSLRs would be better at $400+, but I found that to be quite untrue -- bluring and other issues still remained.

The 2-lens Pentax K100D $500 solution

Then I caught wind of the Pentax K100D and the rebate offers. So I just finally went with the K100D + DA 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 "kit" + DA 50-200mm f/4.0-5.6 combination with the $150 rebate about 6 weeks ago because it was around $500 total. I was so, so glad I did! I'm amazed that even the DA 50-200mm f/4.0-5.6, fully open at 200mm f/5.6, can still capture 300+ knot aircraft at a 1/1,000 shutter in decent daylight. That was far more than I expected, as I largely wanted just some speed for a somewhat slower sports.

Side Note: I just got my $150 rebate check yesterday, about 5 weeks after sending it in. This seems to be a very typical turnaround time for the Pentax rebate offer, which is a very good sign for anyone else interested.

Slowing moving from JPEG to RAW