Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-06-2010, 05:09 AM   #1
Forum Member

Hello from Romania :)

Hello to everyone!

Seeing as how I have a K7 on its way to me, I thought I'd introduce myself here, before I start asking 'noob' questions
So...

I'm Cezar, from Bucharest, Romania. I'm not new to DSLRs, I've been using Sony cameras (with Minolta lenses) for the past three years, but I've recently decided to switch to Pentax.
The main reason behind the switch was the size/weight one. I loved my A700 for its features, but I've always preferred the A100 size-wise (yeah, I have a... 'small frame' and the small hands that come with it). Now I guess I will get the best of both with a K7 (not to mention the overall weight of the gear)

Yes, I know I'm going to lose a bit of DR and a slight edge at high ISO performance (compared to A700), but I can live with that.
As for the lenses... I'm giving up some sweet Minolta glass (28/2, 85G, 200HS) but I hope some 'limiteds' will make up for that (DA15 and FA77 at first, and later on the FA31, I hope). The 17-70 might not be quite up there with my CZ16-80, but I don't use zooms that much anyway, I'm actually buying it for my girlfriend (she shares my passion for photography, which does tent to help with LBA).

Was there something else? Oh yeah... my photographic interests! Well... I'm not a pro, and I don't have a limited 'field of activity'. I'm shooting mostly anything, from landscapes, through street photography and portraits, all the way to snaps of my cat, Iailuu What I'm not really a fan of? Well, wildlife and wedding photography; oh and, not that much macro shooting here, either.
What I hope to get involved with more would be street shooting, which hasn't been so attractive so far, mostly because of the weight/size thingy.

And... if anyone's interested, you can have a look at my photos here:
http://cezarl.zenfolio.com

Quite a long post, I know, better end it here