Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-06-2010, 12:03 PM   #1

Artist/Painter loves photography

Hi folks,

I am joining this forum to learn a little more about Pentax DSLR's, and lenses. I am a painter primarily, I paint realistic landscapes and portraits in oils. You can see some of my work at Matthew Lee Studio Here's pic of me yesterday...taken with Panasonic LX3.

I learned about photogaphy in college by taking several courses in black and white, doing my own developing and printing. I recently started getting interested again. Its mostly about composition for me.
I do not have a DSLR yet or Pentax other than an old K1000 my wife gave me.
Can any of you recommend a camera, I've read quite a bit about the kx and k7.....
I would primarily use it for:
landscape and street photos, artsy black and whites, still life compositions, documenting my paintings.... I would like a grid if it has live view, so I can align my paintings.....
I suppose any basic DSLR will do. When I paint landscapes I work from nature and paint from life. So the K7 might be good for its sturdiness. I like the high ISO on the kx though, so I could take shots inside without a flash.

I live in Memphis, TN, USA, home of rock n roll and blues. Memphis is at the far west end of Tennessee, next to the great Mississippi River. The dowtown is up on a bluff overlooking the river.

Have a great weekend,

Matthew

Last edited by artistinmemphis; 03-07-2010 at 10:56 AM. Reason: added info about Memphis
03-07-2010, 11:39 PM   #2

Photos: Albums
The K7 seems fine for me.