Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-19-2007, 03:01 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
G'day From Australia

Hi all, I purchased a K10D and SMC DA 18-55 lens earlier this week. It is my first DSLR and it was always going to be a Pentax. But it is a big step up for me as my film SLRs are all screwmount Spotmatics which I have been using for over 30 years.

I also run the Spotmatic forum on Yahoo! Groups.
I have a reasonable collection of screwmount Takumar lenses which I am looking forward to using on the K10D when I get the required adapter. Any tips from Takumar lens users will be appreciated.

I live on the Central Coast of New South Wales. Apart from photography, my hobbies are swimming and cycling.

Ray Allen. Loyal Pentax User.

Last edited by rayallen; 07-19-2007 at 03:30 AM.
07-19-2007, 01:55 PM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by rayallen Quote
I live on the Central Coast of New South Wales. Apart from photography, my hobbies are swimming and cycling.
Well you live in the right place for that! I'm in Tasmania and am just about to go and chip the frost off my car so I can drive to work!

Welcome anyhow, this is a friendly place and they don't mind you asking some silly questions (I know, I've tested the theory).

Cheers,

Adam.
07-22-2007, 11:43 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Welcome Ray ... You pretty much have the same setup as I do ... although I don't have any old lenses.

Don't worry Adam ... it gets cold up here in NSW as well ... we had a -6 deg C morning last week ... bloody cold for me ... hee hee.
07-23-2007, 03:53 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
Hi Simon,
Thanks for the welcome.
A friend who also had a K10D called around yesterday and gave me his spare M42-to-K adapter so I was soon outside shooting with a Super-Takumar f1.9 85mm (127mm in 35mm terms). What a blast! It was easier than I expected.

This is more fun than I expected. What a great camera.