Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-07-2010, 09:56 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Correcting blue cast in Lightroom for Minolta Elite 5400?

I just bought a Minolta Elite 5400 film scanner, and just scanned my first negatives using Vuescan Demo (hence the dollar signs).

Scanning the Konica VX100 SUPER negative using Vuescan with autofocus yielded a seemingly sharp image. However, a very heavy blue cast appears in the photo.

I selected the film type in the 'Colour' section in Vuescan, but the colour is still very blue to me. See below:

Above: the heavy blue cast in the original scanned image

Above: 'Auto' WB applied in LR. Blue cast still exists

I'm also a novice LR user. I'm wondering how to go about further correcting this, either in LR or in Vuescan. Your tips would be much appreciated.

Also, using the 'Grain Dissolver' option seems to yield tiny blue specks. Has anyone has experience using this? Is this necessary given there is ICE (IR channels) on this unit? In the meantime I'll turn this off. It seems to add to scan time significantly as well.

It's all quite a steep learning curve....

Thanks for your help!

05-07-2010, 10:15 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by iht Quote
I just bought a Minolta Elite 5400 film scanner, and just scanned my first negatives using Vuescan Demo (hence the dollar signs).

Scanning the Konica VX100 SUPER negative using Vuescan with autofocus yielded a seemingly sharp image. However, a very heavy blue cast appears in the photo.

I selected the film type in the 'Colour' section in Vuescan, but the colour is still very blue to me. See below:

Above: the heavy blue cast in the original scanned image

Above: 'Auto' WB applied in LR. Blue cast still exists

I'm also a novice LR user. I'm wondering how to go about further correcting this, either in LR or in Vuescan. Your tips would be much appreciated.