Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-16-2010, 12:37 PM   #1

In-camera RAW processing the best?

Hi All,

You might say that I am new to photography, just some ~2 years of more or less hobbyist shooting. Only a year with my first DSLR which happen to be Pentax K20D. During this time I have been reading lots of posts on internet about how good is "shooting RAW" and how it can save lots and lots of problems in post processing. I have been trying to adopt this myself e.g. shooting RAW. Here are some of my humble thoughts about the subject (be warned though, this is totally biased and from hobbyist point of view).

Generally speaking I am disappointed in shooting RAW and here is why:

1. None of the PP software delivered results I was hoping to see. I tried Lightroom 2 and 3 betas, RawTherapy, Capture One 5 (PRO), DxO. What I was hoping to see was something substantially better than what my camera delivers in JPEG. In most cases I was disappointed either by demosaic algorithm (Lightroom actually does it very well) or by loss in details or by tonal color transitions (out of camera these are usually smooth, compared to harsh transitions in JPEGs exported from RAW in PP).

2. Sure you can save otherwise seemingly lost shot by correcting exposure or white balance, but result will not be great. You should have made the shot right in the first place by choosing correct settings. Save yourself time and just discard the lost shot. Learn from mistakes and do it right next time! Relying on RAW PP will not teach you anything.

3. I do not understand how my little camera can process RAW file to JPEG in less time and deliver better results than my Dual core PC with latest RAW PP software. I mean, to make RAW -> JPEG conversion in camera it takes what - 2-3 seconds, in Lightroom 5-10 seconds, in Capture One 10-15 seconds. What is wrong here?!