Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-01-2010, 04:02 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Newbie questions about saving RAW files

I just started shooting RAW on my K-x and am using DCU4 (latest update). I have a pretty good understanding of what DCU4 and other converters can do, but I am unclear about what to do when I have finished adjusting the RAW files. I will create a JPG of the adjusted RAW file, but should I save the unaltered RAW files and save another copy of the new adjusted RAW file, resulting in two RAW files? Or should I only save the adjusted RAW file?
Also, I have an old version 6.0 of Photoshop that I like to use on JPG images. Should I further adjust files in Photoshop using the newly created JPG file or using the adjusted RAW file?
Thanks in advance for your help.

08-01-2010, 06:14 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I save only to jpg after making my adjustments and leave the one RAW file as is. Not two. You really don't need two RAW files. And you should be adjusting the RAW file, not the jpg because each time you resave a jpg you lose pixels. If you want you can also what I do and that is make adjustments, then save the RAW file, in PS, using the Save As, and save it as TIFF. This way you can make as many adjustments as you want without loosing data.
08-01-2010, 07:24 PM   #3
hcc
Pentaxian

I agree generally with photolady.

I use PDCU to PP my RAW files. When I have a RAW file, I export the PP output in a JPEG file, and keep the RAW file, if I think that I might need to PP again the file.

If I want to save/store the PP paramters, I save the parameters in a PDCU parameter file: File/Save parameter. To restore the Parameters, File/Open Parameter File. If the parameters are very specific, it is good practice to give a meaningful name, possibly linked with a specfic photo filename if relevant.
08-01-2010, 08:30 PM   #4
Veteran Member