Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-16-2010, 07:50 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Adobe educational rebate

Hi I'm a student and I'm eligible to a big rebate on adobe software. I can get lightroom 3 for 89$ or photoshop CS5 extended for 199$. What should I choose. I have a K-x and shoot a lot in raw.

Thanks.

Last edited by miss_alexx; 08-16-2010 at 09:09 AM.
08-16-2010, 09:28 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by miss_alexx Quote
Hi I'm a student and I'm eligible to a big rebate on adobe software. I can get lightroom 3 for 89$ or photoshop CS5 extended for 199$. What should I choose. I have a K-x and shoot a lot in raw.

Thanks.
CS5 all the way
08-16-2010, 02:40 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery

Thanks.
I'd like to get LR3 for $89. My trial is almost up. Oh to be a student again.
08-16-2010, 02:59 PM   #4
Veteran Member

For those prices, I'd get both, since they do different jobs. Bring your RAW files in and organise them through Lightroom, and use CS5 as the default external editor for pixel-tweaking.

08-16-2010, 03:04 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Derridale Quote
For those prices, I'd get both, since they do different jobs. Bring your RAW files in and organise them through Lightroom, and use CS5 as the default external editor for pixel-tweaking.
I don't think I have the budget for both. If I had to choose ONE of them which one should I choose?
08-16-2010, 03:27 PM   #6
Veteran Member

I'd choose LR. It is not just an image library manager. It has a sub-set of the Photoshop image tweaking tools built in, and many photographers who use it probably do 99% of their image management and editing just within LR.

If in future you find you need to perform more advanced image editing, then buy Photoshop later on.
08-16-2010, 03:50 PM   #7
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by rawr Quote