Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
08-23-2010, 05:21 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
PP Software for Mac - Suggestions Needed

I've been shooting digital for about four years, beginning with a PAS and then using my Pentax DSLR since late 2009. Almost all of my PP has been simple stuff -- curves, levels, contrast, saturation, sharpening -- and I've done 99.9% of it with GraphicConverter. My computer is a Mac, and in addition to GC I have the latest version of Gimp for Mac.

Now I'd like to do more with PP to bring out the most in my photos, and I'd like to explore the artistic side of processing. I'm a bit frustrated with Gimp, which is awkward on Mac, and because online tutorials which I've dredged up sometimes just don't seem to bear much resemblance to what I've got loaded.

All this boils down to is the realization that it might be time for me to buy software which will allow me to go further than I can with GraphicConverter, and which will be better integrated for my OS than Gimp. It would be great to use software which has a lot of support in the form of online tutorials and hardcopy books. I would love to go the whole hog and get Photoshop, but can't afford it.

So the question is, does Elements allow you to do any advanced PP, eg, beyond what I've mentioned (curves, contrast, sat...)? Are there other alternatives? Or am I giving up on Gimp too soon? Advice from folks who know more than I do about this is appreciated.

08-23-2010, 06:43 AM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Image Edit / Optimize / Convert - Design / Graphics - Mac OS X - Software Updates - VersionTracker

Download the trials of Photoshop Elements, Pixelmator, and Aperture 3. Look through the Image Edit section of Versiontracker and see what else is available.
08-23-2010, 09:10 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter