Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-22-2010, 07:38 PM   #1
Forum Member

Best post processing program for a newbie?

Looking to play with some of the shots I get but dont know where to start.

09-22-2010, 07:54 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
I'm just a hobbyist, and have been using Adobe Elements 5 for a few years. I find it easy to use, and produces very good results. Adobe Elements is now up to version 8 and is affordable. Also, there are a lot of tutorial books and online advice to help you learn as you go along.
09-22-2010, 08:10 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Assuming that you have the Pentax software, you might give it a go for starters.
09-22-2010, 09:24 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Start with Adobe Photoshop Elements and when you have grown to the point that you need more, upgrade to the full version of Photoshop.

09-23-2010, 12:55 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Are you on a Mac or a PC?

For a complete beginner, I'd suggest Picasa (free, from Google, and works on both Mac and PC).

If you have a Mac, it came with iPhoto, which is fine for most people wanting to tweak their snapshots.

Photoshop Elements is also very good, and I agree with the above posters, with one exception - Elements for the Mac does NOT include the browser/organiser module for some strange reason.

Why not give Picasa a go - it's free after all?

Picasa 3: Free download from Google
09-23-2010, 03:10 PM   #6
Forum Member

Original Poster
Ok looks like Adobe Photoshop elements 8 or 9

And $20 for a tutorial program. Thanks guys.
09-24-2010, 03:43 AM   #7
Veteran Member