Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-08-2007, 09:19 AM   #1
Forum Member

K100D Max Print Size?

Hi everyone, I am very new to my K100D DSLR Camera and fairly new to SLR cameras, owning an older Pentax K1000 film camera.

I was wondering if I could take my digital chip to a photo lab and print general sized posters??? I read that a Nikon d40 user doing this and loving his results(same res)...any input?? thanks all...

I apoligize if i posted this in the wrong place

09-08-2007, 11:10 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Short answer...yes.

11 x 17 is generally about the largest decent print for a 6 MP camera. However, you must remember that there is a correct viewing distance for any print, and that is the focal length of the lens (in 35mm format equivalent, I think), times the degree of enlargement.

So, yes, you can make nice big posters, but you shoull stand a ways back when viewing. If you are 16 inches away, as when looking at an 8 x 10, you will see the pixels.
09-08-2007, 11:47 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
I see

I was at Sam's photo processing today and saw a nice 1/2 poster sized print of a 3 meg Pixel and it looked pretty good from a few feet away, I know if I get closer I would see the warts, but that pic was also from a point and shoot...

thanks a lot SpecialK...
09-08-2007, 01:07 PM   #4

I've made 20x30's with my K100D's output, and been very happy with the results.

The answer really depends on many factors, but sharpness in the original shot is one, and viewing distance (eyeballs to print distance) is another.

The K100D's image size in pixels is ~3008x2008. If you divide that into inches, it gives you about 100 pixels per inch, or 100dpi, which I find acceptable for prints, unless you are planning on viewing the picture from 1.5 inches away. even then, it's really not bad.