Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-03-2007, 03:42 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Adobe RAW converter for K100D and K10D???

I'll try to make this short

I've been shooting in RAW in both cameras for about 6-7 months now, but doing straight conversion from DNG or PEF in stock Pentax Photo Lab, not in Adobe, and here is why:

The more I got familiar with both cameras and their exposures, the less I have to fiddle with post processing and more and more liking images just as they were shot. Pentax Photo lab sees them as I do in the preview, and converts them straight out of the camera with one click, and I like richness, colors, tones, etc.

On the other hand, Adobe RAW at default settings makes images look dull, unappealing, absolutely no punch, where Pentax Photo Lab - images are rich, punchy, with true to real colors, here are few examples:

Pentax Photolab:

Adobe Raw:

Pentax Photolab:

Adobe Raw:

Both images are done with no tweaking of any sliders in either software.

And even after 2 hours of fiddling with Adobe Raw, I still can not achieve the colors and appearance both cameras produce and converted with no adjustments in Pentax Photo Lab.

I want to be able to use Adobe, but, how I duplicate the settings/profile the Pentax Photo Lab uses or something very close to that so I can get the same results from Adobe?

I've searched the site, but found nothing in concrete to answer my question.

Kind regards,
D

10-03-2007, 04:27 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Adobe's Camera RAW can be pretty intense, there's so many settings there and there's some extra learning curve involved. But to start off with Camera RAW, try this...

If you want the punchier feel, click the "Auto" button in Adobe's Camera RAW settings. Go into the curves and set it to Medium Constrast, Strong Contrast if you desire it.