Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-14-2011, 09:05 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Wacom Intuos 4 Graphics tablet user review

I was really uncertain where to post this in the forums, so I'll leave it to the mods..

This is not going to be a traditional laundry list review. It is largely a collection of impressions and remarks about the usefulness and more importantly the functionality of the Wacom Intuos 4 tablet with common photographic editing suites. For the record; I'm not affiliated with Wacom or Adobe, or any other manufacturer for that matter, i'm just a user of this forum like everyone else.

Recently I bought a large Wacom Intuos 4 tablet, there are several reasons for this. The principal one being that I am a musician, I have to be careful with my hands and RSI (which I have suffered from before) can quite literally become a major pain therefore a graphics tablet presented itself as the ideal input peripheral of choice when doing hours of Photoshop work. Although the Logitech revolution MX 5500 blutetooth keyboard+ mouse combination that I use is exceptionally well designed and ergonomic, the mouse simply isn't the greatest for making precision selections. And although the keyboard has many programmable keys that I can customize with macros it isn't as fast as using a device that is dedicated to this task. So after some market research the Intuos 4 seemed to fulfil my requirements and provide the accessories I would find relevant to my work flow.

Wacom doesn't seem to have many competitors, which is a little disconcerting when it comes to the realm of digital imaging. In my experience when there is little or no competition mediocrity,complacency and a lack of innovation can become issues. Thankfully Wacom, haven't fallen into this trap and have learned from their mistakes and improved on their earlier offerings.