Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-12-2007, 08:06 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Macs and PP Popularity...

Curious if someone cares to really explain the reasoning why macs have always seemed to be so much more popular with the photographer crowd?

Admittedly I am new to the mac scene, having bought my macbook a couple months back, so I still have a steep windows bias, or at least, familiarity with one interface versus the other, to overcome. But I've noticed in virtually every magazine I've picked up, the PP software is predominantly running on macs, and a lot of articles I've read mention this as well.

Just curious if there's a really good reason? I havent used photoshop on the mac yet-was going to get photoshop elements or possibly lightroom....last time I ran photoshop on my PC was a couple years back, and mostly used it for premiere elements, not PSE.

Reason I ask, or at least, one reason I ask, is I was doing PP of my first images off of my k10d a couple nights back in iPhoto, and I wanted to right click (or control-click) to save as (as I would be able to do in the windows world)--so as not to overwrite the original RAW file. But unless I was confused or just over-tired, I did not see the option.
Wondering if my best bet is to copy the actual file folder and rename that, then begin PP work. Might streamline things.

But, it just got me curious how macs sorta got linked to the artistic/creative folks....

11-12-2007, 09:22 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Architecture!

In the beginning much of the Mac environment was coded and burnt to hardware; in effect everybody used the same highly debugged and optimized routines for making all things MAC. In this was a closed system-for peripherals to work with MAC they must be designed for MAC; there was one CPU, one motherboard, one graphics engine.