Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-02-2011, 05:03 PM   #1
Veteran Member

First software purchase

I am a teacher so I can get an educators discount so I am looking at getting software that is capable of doing HDR. With the discount, Aperature is slightly more expensive than Lightroom.

So, which is better? Aperature or Lightroom? They both do RAW and have plugins for HDR. I have to pay for the HDR plugin for Lightroom (or so it seems) whereas I can download Hydra for Aperature for free. Plus, Im using a Mac so I can use Aperature easily.

08-02-2011, 06:05 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
If you are already on a Mac I'd say Aperture. It's a nice program. In fact I like it better than LR, Adobe geek that I am. I wish they'd port it to PC. I might just dump LR completely for it, seriously....
08-02-2011, 11:04 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Lightroom & Photoshop are different tools for different jobs. Lots of information on the Internet if you Google 'lightroom vs photoshop'. You can also check 'lightroom vs aperture' and 'aperture vs photoshop'. Do make sure you read new articles comparing up-to-date versions of the programs through.
08-03-2011, 09:03 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Aperature, hands down. You can still get it at the App store for $75.

08-03-2011, 09:19 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Im just looking to do the slightly more advanced than basic stuff I can do through iPhoto. Aperture 3 is about $80 more but will do HDR whereas Lightroom can only do it with a plugin that costs about the same as the difference. So, in reality, theyre about the same overall. I just downloaded the Aperture 3 free trial and am really liking it. The Hydra HDR plugin works really well too.
08-05-2011, 06:31 PM   #6
Veteran Member