Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
08-19-2011, 11:51 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
What do these images need?

I've always used LR and Aperture and just moved the sliders around. Now I'm starting to need a little more. I took these pictures for a friend and need to edit them. Typical senior picture stuff....blemish removal, skin smoothing on the arms, pimples, etc....
I'll be using the trial for CS5. What terms and techniques should I be looking up and what would I need to do to remove the line from the white board in the first image to blend it into the background? I'll research it once I know the name of the technique.

08-19-2011, 12:10 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm no expert on this but it looks like better lighting was needed to start with.
08-19-2011, 12:53 PM   #3
A-z
Forum Member

Hey, you can use the smudge or blur tool to remove the line.
Also, play around with curves and levels in the first instance. As far as skin smoothing goes there are several ways to go about it, I like the surface blur method on selected areas only, and always work in layers so you can adjust the opacity of layers as needed.
08-19-2011, 02:56 PM   #4
hcc
Pentaxian

What camera, lens and camera settings did you use?

The second picture lighting is inconsistent, possibly poor. I feel that some good lighting woudl improve drastically the shot.

Food for thought...

08-19-2011, 06:54 PM   #5
Veteran Member

You can probably correct most of the lighting issues within LR, to include using the tone curve adjustments to adjust highlight/lights/darks/shadows. They could certainly use more fill and contrast to make them pop.

You certainly want to do that before you blur the line in the backdrop, particularly considering they're two different shades of white and blurring alone will not do it.
08-19-2011, 06:57 PM   #6