Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-19-2011, 05:03 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Epson 1400 - Dead head.. what next?

Well, after a week of futile efforts at cleaning my 1400 I called tech support and they confirmed that the head was broken. Repair would likely be uneconomical. No longer in warranty.

They offered me access to their loyalty customer prices but their out of stock on everything close to the 1400 other than the R2880.

As I complained at spending $100 on new ink cartridges trying to get the damn thing fixed, they've offered an EXTRA set of ink if I get another Epson printer.

Sooo... Do I upgrade to the R2000, the R2880 (at $436 - about $50 off), the R3000...
OR do I go back to the 1400...
OR do I jump brands (losing out on a bunch of free ink) and go for a Canon?

So to answer the inevitable 'What are my needs'? Well, I'm a hobbyist photographer who will on occasion print, mat and frame for gifts and I aspire to selling some in a booth at street shows and fairs...

All advice is welcome...

Ken

Last edited by Javaslinger; 08-19-2011 at 06:08 PM. Reason: Clarification
08-19-2011, 05:43 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Hi

Had the same problems... finally threw out the printer, all they are is Cash Cows for the printer
companies.
I have my prints done, a 12x18 costs $3.50 and standard prints if in quantity
for 12 cents usually.
A LOT cheaper than having my own printer.
Only use a laser printer for misc .
Everyone should boycott the Ink Barons till the price comes down, 50 bucks for
a bit of colored water and program them so not to be refilled is robbery.
08-19-2011, 06:05 PM   #3
Veteran Member

What? The new Epson printers don't already come with a set of ink? My new 1400 came with the ink.

Maybe check Epson site frequently for 1400 refurb, or the other models.