Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-28-2007, 02:54 PM   #1
Inactive Account

economical, intuitive software

I'm new to the DSLR world and I'm searching to find good editing (RAW and JPEG) software. The hunt for the appropriate camera was hard enough (I'm going with the K10D) but at least there seem to be a lot of articles (some of them more like short novels) that take you in depth into all of the features and performance aspects of most of the cameras out there. I can't say I've been able to find the same amount of really thorough information out there about software. I've read a bit about GIMP but I'm afraid installing, using, and updating it would require more computer savvy than I have. Adobe Photoshop CS is way outside of my budget. Other than that I have come across Adobe Elements 6, PhotoImpact Pro, and Paint Shop, along with a few others. I can't find a single article on the new PhotoImpact and the rest just don't seem to really dig or demonstrate the capabilities of the respective programs the way the camera reviews do. Any helpful hints or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

11-28-2007, 03:14 PM   #2

Well The Gimp is not hard to install, you just download the .exe file for the windows version from this site and run it.

as for the other commercial software the best reviews I've read are saying Photoshop Elements is the best of them all, but that's all subjective.

I think most if not all programs offer a trial version so it might be a good idea to try a few of them (like PSE6, PhotoImpact, Paint Shop Pro Photo X2, ...) and see which one fits your needs.

Also if you don't need to do much editing you can also try Photoshop Lightroom. It's a nice tool if you shoot in RAW but it lacks some advanced features of PSE6 or CS3 (but then PSE6 and CS3 lack some tools that Lightroom has).

There is a review on Lightroom on the website of the NAPP that tries to explain where Lightroom fits in.