Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-04-2011, 03:37 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Metallic Prints

I got to the point a few years ago disliking inkjet printers because of the cost of ink/paper etc.

I am now getting back into my photography hobby, and am trying out a couple print services on-line.

As an experiment, I had one of my favorite flower photos from this past summer printed - had 3 copies printed - one regular matte, one with a luster coating, and one metallic print. Now that I have them, I studied the three side by side for a while.

I had been a fan of glossy prints from my days of doing my own B&W printing years ago, but usually went with the standard matte finish lately. The metallic print is definitely a glossy, but I just love it.

It's hard to explain without looking at the examples, but the metallic print seems to have more depth to it, and the colors just pop! Looking at the metallic print along side the matte print, the matte print just looks so dull and lifeless. The cost of the metallic is a little more (~25%) but I am hooked now.

I did a forum search and didn't find any posts about these metallic prints - anyone else use them?

09-04-2011, 03:49 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Its funny, I too recently got a lot of prints done in metallic for the first time and am very impressed with them. I got colour and b+w shots done, for that little bit extra in price I think I will do all printing in metallic for now on.
09-04-2011, 06:01 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Where did you get Metalic prints done?

09-04-2011, 07:38 PM   #4
Site Supporter

This has to be my fav thread recently as I want to try metal prints but have no idea how they appear, or what subjects are most suitable, compared to matte and glossy. Thanks guys for sharing experience. Looks like I will have to try some this week.

09-04-2011, 08:08 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter