Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-12-2011, 05:57 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Help me assess: Pentax Digital Camera Utility vs In Camera JPEG

Hi all,

So today I was going through some of my recent pics taken in Whistler, BC, and was also trying out the Faststone Image Viewer program's very cool comparison feature. First a short history to put things in perspective. When I started shooting DSLR in 2008, I first started out JPEG only...then the more I got into it, the more I read, the more I realized the benefits of using RAW. So sometime in 2009 I switched to using RAW and settled on the Pentax Digital Camera Utility (PDCU) as my RAW editor of choice because I liked the way it transitioned your in camera settings as well as Pentax color into the final JPEG product. So long story short, my wife recently had our first child, and he's nine months old now. I have come to realize that parenting leaves you with a lot less free time than before! As a result, started shooting RAW+ so that I could stream line my workflow and just use JPEG's when I felt they were of good enough quality. So back to the point of my thread, today I happened to compare the RAW generated JPEG, through PDCU, with default/unchanged from the camera settings, to the in-camera JPEG's being created along with each RAW in RAW+ mode. Here are the two pics, one full size, and the second a 100% crop.

I only compared the shots for a few minutes, but I was looking for everyone's thoughts.

PDCU JPEG:

In Camera JPEG:

PDCU 100% Crop:

In Camera JPEG 100% crop:

09-12-2011, 06:01 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Seems to the the Raw to JPEG is sharper - the rocks don't look as blurred. The sunlight isn't as yellow in the Raw to JPEG vs just JPEG.

However, I believe the hugest potential in using the RAW and converting to JPEG is that you have a lot more of the dynamic range to play with.
09-12-2011, 08:11 PM   #3
Veteran Member