Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
09-24-2011, 10:07 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
ICC Colour profiles

Wasn't sure if I should put this in beginers section or here, but since its about printing I figured here would do.

So I am a novice when it comes to printing photos. Yes I know I have shot near to 8000 photos and not 1 has been printed yet. Shame on me !
I have researched printers and decided/purchased a canon pixma iP4950. Bought myself a couple packs of photo paper, (Canon matte photo paper, Kodak Ultra Premium Photo Paper - studio gloss and Kodak Ultra Premium Photo Paper - high gloss). If its relevant I have an Asus VH242H monitor and a Radeon 5800 series Graphics card, running Windows 7. Software I am using is Adobe Lightroom 3.2 and Canon Easy photo print ex (came with the printer)
Now I've come to printing and hit a hurdle. I can't get the colours/shade the same as the screen.

I have no idea where to start except for 300dpi setting the paper to glossy or matte etc, print quality to Max.
From what I have read apparently there is ICC Colour Profiles that are required for each type of paper I use. The Canon paper is in there pre-installed with the printer. I feel like I need to do a degree in printing just to get it right!!

Any help will be much appreciated

09-24-2011, 10:31 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Screen calibration is the first task. If that is out you have no visible base to match with output from the printer.
Got myself a SpyderExpress some years ago - not too expensive.
09-24-2011, 10:45 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Hmm that's annoying. More stuff to buy! I thought it would have been easier to calibrated monitors a certain way and you could just download the profile and the printer could print accordingly.

So whats all this waffle i've been reading on ICC profiles?
09-25-2011, 12:46 AM - 2 Likes   #4
Veteran Member