Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-06-2007, 11:51 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
first software for digital processing?

Hello, everyone;
I'm brand new to digital, I just got a K10D in order to use all my existing lenses. What an incredible machine! I've had a bit of experience fooling around with Elements 2.0 using film images put on disc as JPEGs by the processor. Now I'm interested in getting the most out of my new equipment. Is Elements 6 the best place for me to start? Will it allow capture and editing of my RAW images? If there's a better program for me to start with that's in the same price range, please let me know. I'm really looking forward to learning to edit my own stuff, I just need pointed in the right direction to start with. I really appreciate any input!!

ROB

12-06-2007, 12:48 PM   #2

I guess it all depends on what you really want to do.

Photoshop Elements 6 is able to open the RAW files from my K100D (with Camera Raw) and it's not all that expensive.

On the other hand, if you are not into retouching that much but just want to do some basic "workflow" then Adobe Lightroom might be a better option (is a bit more expensive then Elements 6 though).

Basically Lightroom is targetting Photographers more then Photoshop Elements and CS3 are so Lightroom has some advantages over Elements (faster in it's RAW processing and easier to apply corrections on a bunch of poto's at once, like White Balance correction. But I think Camera Raw also support this ?).

Anyways, there are a lot of discussions here talking about Photoshop and Lightroom that give you a lot more information.

And you can always dowload Lightroom, Photoshop Elements 6, Photoshop CS3 Extended, Corel Paint Shop Pro X2 Photo, Ulead Image Magic (or so), ... and try them (I think ALL offer a 30 day trial) and then decide what's the right tool for you.