Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-30-2011, 05:14 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Which to buy - PSP or PS elements 9

Hey Guys

Where do I start? I am relatively new to PP and was wondering where to go first. PSelements is about 130 and PSP is about 70. Is there even a comparison or what's the deal.

Most articles in magazines end up discussing PS elements or the full version so it is easy to follow along with the "tutorials" if you have the same software. Worthy of consideration for people new to PP I feel but....

Is it really worth spending the extra for PSelements? I have the silky pix, and GIMP, and I demo'd PS for a month so.....

Any thoughts on which to go with?

09-30-2011, 08:01 AM   #2
JHD
Veteran Member

I bought them both but haven't tried either. I also have LR but haven't opened it up either.

Some people say PSP is supposed to be almost as capable as PhotoShop. I bought it because it was on sale (same with PSE & LR).
09-30-2011, 08:03 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Why would you buy a PlayStationPortable to edit photos
09-30-2011, 11:12 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have PSP, now version X4,

It is quite powerful, but also has some areas where it lags behind.

Most specifically the areas lagging are in relation to lens correction, CA removal and distortion correction.

10-01-2011, 11:11 AM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Lowell Goudge Quote
I have PSP, now version X4,

It is quite powerful, but also has some areas where it lags behind.

Most specifically the areas lagging are in relation to lens correction, CA removal and distortion correction.
Hey Lowell

So does PSP do layers and support HDR? I would like to try to work with these things as it seems that every article in Photo magazines deals with these topics.
Thanks for the tip.
10-01-2011, 02:27 PM   #6
Pentaxian