Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-29-2011, 08:56 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Basic Lightroom Workflow?

Hi Guys,

I am just getting into shooting RAW and doing PP using Lightroom 3.5 w/ Niks Silver.

Forgive me if there are a billion threads and tutorials on this (I looked).

I had been shooting jpeg and doing minor edits in Picasa so I am familar with editing and correction on a basic level. I have processed some RAW files before but wanted to see what all you pros were doing

Can anyone give me a quick and dirty rundown of general PP workflow from RAW in lightroom? Or point me to a good resource?

I am looking for info such as:

-what generally "should" be done to an image from RAW
-is there a strict order to the process
-how far do I move the sharpening slider (or any other slider) for a RAW file, is there a general consensus on what is too little/too much for that sort of thing?
-other tips, strategies for a noob in PP

Thanks for your help!

10-29-2011, 09:06 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Generally you go from Library to Develop, and top to bottom in the adjustments.
How much of what adjustment varies by your gear and the shot, but I like to apply the punch preset to a lot of my images if I want strong colors and pop.
Then I'll adjust fill light, balance that with some blacks.
If necessary apply some color channel adjustments (like if the reds are blown or for example)
The punch preset does sharpening, so I rarely add more but I'll often do some noise reduction or sharpening next. Do these at 100% view to see what it's really doing.
Mostly I'll just add 10 or 20 to the top NR slider if there is visible noise (ISO 1600+) and not mess with the other ones unless it's a special case.
Then apply lens correction last because it slows down working with a file.
Finally export to Flickr, Facebook, Zenfolio, or the filesystem depending on what I'm doing with that image.