Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-28-2011, 12:21 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Beginner question re: digital processing

Hi there. I'm new to DSLR photography and I am looking for a bit of a sanity check on the post processing side of things. I have a K-5 and am shooting in RAW/DNG format, and then using Photoshop Elements 9. I can't decide if I am surprised at how much post processing is required, or if I am pleased with how much control we have of the image after it is out of the camera.

I guess my questions is: Is a fair amount of post processing normal?

For instance, here is a shot I took yesterday, overcast grey day, flat light.
- The first image has just had the default processing/sharpening done and been resized for the forum.
- For the second image I set the white balance to 'cloudy' and bumped up the brightness in the elements RAW editor, then resized for the forum.
- The third image is the same processing as the second, and then some additional post processing in Photoshop (auto enhance), and then resized for the forum.

So is this the 'normal' amount/type of processing required when shooting RAW files with a DSLR?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts... john a

Attached Images

11-28-2011, 12:45 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums