Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-02-2012, 09:43 AM   #1

Best Processing Program

Ok, I bought the K-5 and now I want to do some tweeking to my pictures. Now keep in mind, that I am NOT a professional, I am not able to run a complicated program, or spend hours fixing a single picture, I just want to tweek the coloring, brightness, crop a bit maybe turn my picture a little...you get the idea... what do you recommend for a program? I think my priority is ease of use and quality of finished product rather than price.

01-02-2012, 10:02 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Lightroom. It will grow with you.

You can start by just importing your RAW images, apply the lens profile, adjust exposure, fix white balance, add some sharpening, crop/rotate and you are done.

Once you feel the need for more controls, there are there waiting for you.
01-02-2012, 10:32 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by demp10 Quote
Lightroom. It will grow with you.

You can start by just importing your RAW images, apply the lens profile, adjust exposure, fix white balance, add some sharpening, crop/rotate and you are done.

Once you feel the need for more controls, there are there waiting for you.
I agree completely. While there is a learning curve to any software, Lightroom is one that you will be able to pick up quite quickly. It will allow you to shoot in RAW and quickly view and process your shots with minimum hassle. Probably the only downside is that it isn't cheap but there are deals out there. I got it for $99 on a special and I saw it recently at Newegg as one of their Shell Shocker deals for that price. It was $149 just about everywhere over the holidays.
01-02-2012, 10:33 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter