Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-17-2012, 02:53 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Is Adobe Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements 10 worth $69

Saw it on Amazon for $69 w/ free shipping and was wondering if it was worth it. I'm currently only using Picasa.

02-17-2012, 04:41 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I'm going to give you an answer I've gotten a million times. The kind of answer that just leaves me wondering, "Why did they even answer me?" Here it goes:

It really depends what you want to do with it.

Now, with that out of the way, I'll try to be a little more helpful. I've had both versions of Elements 10 since they were released.

I'll start with Premiere Elements. I've had a lot of experience with video editing in the past, and I just don't like the way Premiere performs. There is a lot of other software out there that is better. Now if you're getting it just as a bonus because you want Photoshop Elements, then it's fine. It's good for basic stuff, but it's rendering abilities are painstakingly slow. I really don't use it. I've opened it maybe once or twice just to "give it another try" since I got it. I stick with other video editing software.

Photoshop Elements isn't really all that bad. Obviously, Photoshop is a lot more powerful, but if you just want to make some simple corrections, it is worth it. You can do a lot of the stuff that regular Photoshop can do such as: layering, color correction, filters, masks, etc. Some of the features such as the magic lasso, content aware healing brush, etc also work pretty well.