Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
03-15-2012, 05:26 PM - 1 Like   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Class A Quote
I take issue with someone being referred to as an "engineer" when they have no engineering education.
An engineer can be anyone. Unfortunately its such a broad profession that that encompasses anyone from a home tinkerer to a aerospace engineer (or software engineer). I am a Civil Engineer (student) and I too find it annoying that this is the case but hey, not much one can do about that.

As for Jeff Van de Walker, he may well be managing the QC area. This might take him away from the physical testing phases, but he is the name that is put in the shooting gallery when one (or more) of his staff make a mistake. I also am a strong believer in self taught people being the almost as good as those who have been through training, sure there are some that are not up to standard but a lot of those i know who are self taught in their profession are successful. They have a desire that I see to be missing in a lot of those who have formal education.

It still doesn't reflect very well on the company that it was so buggy. Every release should be put under a microscope, with testing of even the basic features and performance due to the collateral effect modifications in one feature might have on another.

03-15-2012, 07:33 PM   #17
Pentaxian

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by SpecialK Quote
...most people do not work in the profession they went to school for, and Jeff has been at his job for almost 14 years. It is not what you know, but knowing who to ask...
I didn't claim that it isn't possible to excel in an area for which you weren't educated for.