Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-08-2012, 07:20 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Lightroom v4 and SSD?

I have just bought lightroom 4 and am wondering if a SSD will improve performance on my PC. I am currently running a E6500 dual-core system with 4GB ram and 7200rpm 1TB hard drive.

I googled and some people say the benefit is negligible....some say the difference is huge....so I am not sure.

Any comments please?

04-08-2012, 07:34 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I am no expert, and still using LR 3.6 but I would think memory is probably limiting at 4gb. I moved to 8gb and it made a noticeable difference on my older system. No experience with SSD's but I would think they might have a bigger impact on systems that are memory limited as swapping would be much faster. But you need 64bit to go beyond 4gb.
04-08-2012, 08:32 AM   #3

Photos: Albums
An ssd will improve your system. Anything to do with reading/writing to your storage will be faster on a ssd. But if its worth it will be entirely depend on you.
It took me awhile to convince my brother to try an ssd. After purchasing a Intel 80gb there was no going back for him.
Now he is running an intel 80gb for his operating system/applications and a raid-0 array of ssd's for his games. He still uses regular hard drives for storage.
04-08-2012, 10:03 AM   #4
Veteran Member

If are running a 64-bit OS, going to 8GB will give you a noticeable boost, especially with a traditional hard disk. RAM is used for caching disk reads/writes and more RAM means Windows can allocate more memory for caching operations, which will speed up your system. RAM is also much cheaper than an SSD of any reasonable size.

04-08-2012, 03:44 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Working with large libraries will be sped up with a SSD. So will program opening. For faster image processing and export, more RAM will give you the best bang for your buck.