Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-14-2008, 05:45 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Understanding Lightroom v 1.3

I'm relatively new to to the digital processing and got Lightroom and Elements for a present. I just started using Lightroom first. I started to import pictures both from my camera and those on my hard drive from specific folders. I went to improve a few pictures and learn the Develop mode in lightroom.

Normally when I imported raw data I would put into a "raw folder" process and edit, delete etc from that folder and then export the jpg and selected pef files into a specific folder. That way I could import pictures of different themes and then resort into exisiting folders to make finding easier later. In lightroom, I'm not sure when to save as a jpeg and when I export to a slected folder the original remains in my Raw folder.

Secondly when I went to review some pictures the next day it stated that it could not find a image: "The file xxx.jpg is offline or missing". I know lightroom makes a metadata file for the image and keeps it somewhere but somehow I'm separating the metadata from the picture.

I'm sure it is not an error in the program but more the way I'm handling the files. What should I be doing? Where can I turn for better information? The instruction manual assumes a more thorough knowledge then I have and does not seem to address this problem.

Once I have imported all my images from my hard drive and add key words will this problem go away. When I download from the camera should I select the photos and presort the download into the destination folders rather then a common raw folder?. how do I find out where the jpg file made from a *.pef file?

I know a lotta questions but this is confusing.

01-14-2008, 06:29 PM   #2
Inactive Account