Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-24-2008, 07:02 PM   #1

2 Questions for Mac Users

I have decided to switch to Mac. I will be buying a MacBook 2.2 GHz laptop which comes with 1 gb of memory and a 120 gb hardrive. I use a K10d and shoot in both JPEG and RAW - my hobby, not my profession.

Questions:

First question: I have decided to upgrade the hard drive to 160, but how much memory? I have been told 2 gb is usually enough for most purposes, but how much is needed for post processing? I can get a good deal on 4 gb and the general rule is "more is better" when it comes to memory.

Related question: Any thoughts on good post processing software for Mac? Again, I am not a professional and cost is a consideration.

I have used both Windows and Linux over the years, but I am completely new to Mac, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Bob

01-24-2008, 07:14 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I upgraded my Macbook's memory to 4gb after noticeable lag while using Photoshop CS3, while browsing and using IM. After the upgrade, everything is just dandy!

I only use Photoshop CS3 and Photomatix Pro with my Mac. Though some photogs I know swear by Mac's own Aperture program. I haven't tried it yet though.
01-24-2008, 07:17 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Oh, about the hard drive, I opted to get a 500gb external drive instead of upgrading to a 250gb internal HD. I use my MB's HD for programs and music only. All pictures, movies and what not, I store in my external HD.
01-24-2008, 08:53 PM   #4
Veteran Member

definetly sink the money into an external drive. cheaper, more bang for the buck

do not buy the RAM from apple. look to newegg.com or otherworldcomputing, either will get you the needed RAM at a fraction of the cost

PP wise, I am running PSE via vmware on a windows partition, working to get lightroom back however