Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-25-2012, 02:01 PM   #1
Veteran Member

OS X help! Upgrade?

Hello, I'm hoping I can find some people who are on Macs and stay well-updated on current software versions, compatibility, etc. I'm basically competent with computers, but I don't do all the latest upgrades. In many cases it's because I'm lazy, but with an Operating System, I'm also scared. I'm a professional, so I'm always worried about epic workflow interruptions. When OS X Lion came out, I decided, as usual, not to upgrade right away, and to wait until everything looked "safe." From that point I got busier and busier, and just forgot about it. Now that I'm seeing all the hubbub about Mountain Lion, I realize I've skipped an entire OS release, and it's probably time I bring myself current. I'm on OSX 10.6.8 (last Snow Leopard release) right now.

My biggest concerns are my relatively old versions of Photoshop (CS4) and Lightroom (3.6).

Is upgrading to the new release of Mountain Lion going to be easy, or is it going to kill me?

07-25-2012, 02:17 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hi Todd.

I made the switch to Lion from Snow Leopard, after waiting for the dust to settle, and almost immediately regretted it, but mainly because of CS3, which appeared to be incompatible. I decided not to revert to Snow Leopard because I'd read that CS5 offered significant advantages over CS3, so I found a good bundle at academic prices (makes a big difference if you can qualify or know someone who does) and moved up there as well. What I didn't realise until later was that CS3 would run, but only after some tweaking, in Lion.