Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-11-2012, 12:21 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Need help with print type, Lustre or Metallic?

Hey guys, I'll be entering three of these photos in a judged competition coming up soon, but I want to order prints of all of them. I'm fairly new to printing for competition, so I wanted your advice on lustre vs metallic prints for the following photos:

What do you guys think? Which would look better as both a wall hanging (sans glass), and in front of judges under spot lights?

Thanks!

08-11-2012, 12:38 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Will they be framed behind glass?
If so i would go for matt actually...
08-11-2012, 01:06 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Anvh Quote
Will they be framed behind glass?
If so i would go for matt actually...
Thanks Anvh; no framing and no glass, they can be matted but that's it.
08-11-2012, 01:34 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
i think it comes down to personal preference as there are no rules. I like metallic when there are skies and water in the image. I hate metallic for skin tones. I like matte for classic B&W's. YMMV.
#2 would really pop on metallic.

08-11-2012, 02:21 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by mikeSF Quote
i think it comes down to personal preference as there are no rules. I like metallic when there are skies and water in the image. I hate metallic for skin tones. I like matte for classic B&W's. YMMV.
#2 would really pop on metallic.
Thanks for the input mike. Sounds like I just should try them both. My concern with metallic was glare under the judging spotlights.
08-11-2012, 04:22 PM   #6
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by jeffshaddix Quote
Thanks for the input mike. Sounds like I just should try them both. My concern with metallic was glare under the judging spotlights.