Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-08-2012, 07:56 AM   #16

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There is another consideration on Macs. I have been using Aperture for a couple of years, and am switching to LR 4. All of the previous postings on this thread I pretty much agree with. The Aperture user interface is really nice, but LR 4 has better tools. I also use the Nik software, and it runs great on both Aperture and LR 4.

The problem with Aperture is that I'm running Snow Leopard, and do not want to "upgrade" to Lion or Mountain Lion. Apple, in it's infinite wisdom, is only updating Aperture that runs on Lion or Mountain Lion. In other words, Apple is no longer supporting Aperture on Snow Leopard, even though (as of this date), I believe something like 50-60% of Macs still run Snow Leopard. And another way to put it - to get the latest updates and/or upgrades to Aperture, you may have to install a new operating system. And this is likely to continue in the future, as Apple just doesn't give a hoot about "old operating systems". Installing any new operating system is fraught with peril, like breaking other non-Apple applications.

Yes, I'm delaying the inevitable, and will eventually have to update my operating system to the latest and greatest. But at least Adobe and LR 4 don't blow off 50-60% of Mac users still on Snow Leopard.

Because of this, I'm switching to LR 4. Apple just seems behind in the game. Aperture 4 should have been out by now, and Apple doesn't acknowledge that it's even working on Aperture 4. Kind of hard to stay with Aperture, when all indications point to Apple just dropping it entirely, and focusing on all the other gadgets they make.