Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-22-2012, 02:30 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Pentax Digital Camera Utility 4

This software has been sitting unused on my desktop for two years. I opened it once but the interface seemed pretty daunting and unfriendly, so I put it aside and continued on with Aperture. Has anyone used the Pentax software much? Does it excel in certain areas?

10-22-2012, 04:52 PM   #2
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I use PDCU most often, but I acknowledge that I have limited extensive experience with other image processing software.

PDCU must be used in its latest version (v 4.35) which is more stable and compatible with the latest hardware (lens, card...).

Generally PDCU is acknowledged in PD discussions as providing post-processed IQ equivalent to the leading image processing software.

PDCU on the other hand does not manage well memory to proces large batch of photographs.

Personally, I like some simple features of PDCU like noise reduction, lens distortion and aberation correction. I like the outputs and I found these better than Photoshop and Sylkpix.

To use PDCU, you need to select a directory in the Browser mode. Thenn select the Laboratory Mode. In laboratory mode, you can go photograph by photograph to change the settings (on the right handside in my case). You can create and save parameter profiles to use these on several photographs. You can do batc processing (within some memory limitations).

In my case, I complement PDCU by three stand-alone software for specific task:
- Noiseware for noise reduction - PDCU does a good job, but I feel that Noiseware output is more pleasant for strong NR at high ISO.
- PTLens for lens distortion correction - in my opinion, PTLens is the best software for that task, eg for architecture or engineering.
- Hugin for stiching images, for example for a panorama.

I hope that the comment may help.
10-22-2012, 05:34 PM   #3