Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-01-2012, 05:07 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Calibrating my Monitor

I had been wanting to upgrade my monitor for awhile, and last week I found a good deal on a Dell S2240M. So far the color seems a lot better (IPS) and I like the wide viewing angle. The full HD is also nice since it makes the screen feel less cluttered in Photoshop and other programs. But I know I still need to calibrate the monitor, something I've never done before. Spyder seems to be the most popular calibration system. I was thinking of buying an older version used to save money. Does anyone know if the newer version (4) is significantly better than the older versions? I know they claim it is improved but is it worth the extra money? Whenever I've ordered prints in the past the first thing I notice is the prints are a lot darker than the screen. Will calibrating my monitor fix this problem?

12-01-2012, 05:45 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Calibrating your monitor is a must. Your prints will be way out of whack until you calibrate. Once you calibrate you will see the results automatically and you'll see how dramatic the change is a well. I personally have the Spyder Express 3 and use it at least once a month. I can't speak for the newer versions but mine works perfectly fine. It's like the old saying, if it ain't broke don't fix it.
12-01-2012, 05:47 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Cannot help with version 4 but I'm a satisfied Spyder 3 user.
12-01-2012, 06:07 PM - 1 Like   #4
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by krp Quote