Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-20-2013, 09:51 PM   #1

Any highly recommended photo editing software?

Hi all. Can anyone recommend a photo editing software package? I read a lot of good things about Lightroom, and I'm OK with its price range (~$120).

I'm a newbie with a new K-5 IIs and a Windows 7 PC.

Thanks!

-Kurt

02-20-2013, 10:35 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Browse many of the similar threads in this section. This gets asked about every 2 weeks :-)
02-20-2013, 10:48 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Highly recommended, I guess Photoshop but at over $600.00, not really practical for most of us.

The most commonly recommended software is undoubtedly Lightroom 4. Once you get past the learning curve, it is pretty powerful.

I stumble along with Photoshop Elements (cheap) and FastStone (free.)
02-20-2013, 11:15 PM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I have Lightroom 4... love it.

02-20-2013, 11:31 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Depends entirely on what you mean by editing. How many images are you working with? How much editing do you do? And what kind? Do you use a lot of layers, do a lot of composites? Or just fix exposure and cropping? Do you need keywording and DAM software?

Lightroom is DAM software that does most editing photographers need, Photoshop is editing software that has limited DAM abilities. Are you concerned about archiving and finding images years from now? If so Lightroom is the better choice. If you are a graphic artist and need the power then Photoshop is better.
02-21-2013, 12:36 AM   #6
Veteran Member

Lightroom + photoshop for me aswell, you can get photshop CS2 for free now at adobe. With that setup you can use the latest RAW converter from Adobe and have support for the latest camera but also have powerful editing program for when you need it.

Capture one and DXO are also worth looking at.
02-21-2013, 12:57 AM   #7